top of page

Hit Me! The Best Of Ian Dury

Hit Me! The Best Of Ian Dury



Album Pre-order link:

Released by BMG on 16 October 2020

Wednesday 2nd September (10 UK BST): In August 1977, a 35-year-old Ian Dury released his first solo record, a 7" vinyl single, whose title Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll became a term of common usage and is still very much part of our vocabulary today. Within the next two years, Dury’s debut album New Boots and Panties!! would spend 89 weeks on the British Album charts. His third single Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick, became a U.K. number one in January 1979, selling a staggering 970,000 copies. When Ian Dury lost his life to cancer in 2000 aged 57, he left as one of the great auteurs of the 20th Century, a man who fought enormous disability and adversity to become recognised as a national treasure.

On October 16, BMG releases ‘Hit Me! The Best Of Ian Dury’ a newly assembled compilation put together with the Ian Dury Estate. It’s a compendium of Dury’s biggest hits and then some, a knockout selection of tracks sourced from across Ian’s solo career, Ian Dury & The Blockheads and Kilburn & The High Roads. To kickstart the release, the original extended 12” edit of ‘Reasons To be Cheerful Pt 3’ which was previously unavailable on digital services, is now available to stream here;

‘Hit Me! The Best Of Ian Dury’ will be released as a 50 track 3 CD set, 20 track white vinyl Gatefold LP and download. Sleevenotes are provided by adopted Blockhead Phill Jupitus.

The compilation opens with ‘Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll’ and goes on to feature the now classic singles ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’, ‘What A Waste’, ‘Sueperman’s Big Sister’, ‘Sweet Gene Vincent’, ‘Wake Up and Make Love With Me’ and the aforementioned original 12” mix of ‘Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt 3’. Some of Ian’s best and most loved album cuts/B sides are also present – monumental numbers such as ‘There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards’, ‘Inbetweenies’, ‘Billericay Dickie’, ‘Billy Bentley (Promenades Himself In London)’, ‘Blockheads’, ‘Upminster Kid’ and ‘Clevor Trever’. All of course delivered with the quite brilliant musicianship that was provided by amongst others, Norman Watt-Roy, Wilko Johnson, Mickey Gallagher, John Turnbull, Davey Payne, Rod Melvin and Chaz Jankel.

To sum up the power of Ian’s music, Phill Jupitus calls it best in the sleevenotes; “As I look over these tracks I’m reminded of certain times in my life. Certain feelings. Wonderful gigs, interminable car journeys, close friends, new friends, family, mad nights out, sad times, the biological father I never knew. Ian and the band’s music has been such a part of our lives that it has that kind of effect. “

Hit Me! The Best Of Ian Dury is the first release to come from BMG as part of a newly signed catalogue deal and marks the start of a number of exciting projects to come.



1. Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll*

2. Wake Up and Make Love With Me*

3. Sweet Gene Vincent*

4. Clevor Trever*

5. Billericay Dickie*

6. My Old Man*

7. I’m Partial To Your Abracadabra*

8. Plaistow Patricia*

9. Blockheads*

10. Pam’s Moods***

11. If I Was With A Woman*

12. Upminster Kid***

13. Billy Bentley (Promenades Himself In London)***

14. Rough Kids***

15. The Mumble Rumble and the Cocktail Rock***

16. The Roadette Song***

17. Crippled With Nerves***

18. Blackmail Man*


1. Reasons To Be Cheerful, Pt. 3 (12” Version)**

2. Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick**

3. What A Waste**

4. Inbetweenies**

5. I Want To Be Straight**

6. This Is What We Find**

7. There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards**

8. Waiting For Your Taxi**

9. Razzle In My Pocket*

10. You’re More Than Fair*

11. Quiet**

12. Common As Muck**

13. Dance Of The Screamers**

14. Don’t Ask Me**

15. Mischief**

16. Lullaby For Franci/es**


1. Mash It Up Harry**

2. Dance Little Rude Boy**

3. Sueperman’s Big Sister**

4. Spasticus Autisticus (Live)**

5. You’ll See Glimpses**

6. F*cking Ada**

7. Hey, Hey Take Me Away**

8. Dance Of The Crackpots**

9. Bed O’Roses No.9**

10. O’Donegal*

11. Itinerant Child*

12. Geraldine**

13. Jack Sh*t George**

14. I Believe*

15. One Love*

16. England’s Glory (Demo)*

* As Ian Dury

** As Ian Dury and the Blockheads

*** As Kilburn & The High Roads



  1. Reasons to Be Cheerful (Part 3)

  2. Hit Me with Your Rhythm Stick

  3. I Want to Be Straight

  4. Billericay Dickie

  5. I'm Partial To Your Abracadabra


  1. What A Waste

  2. Inbetweenies

  3. Sueperman's Big Sister

  4. There Ain't Been Some Clever Bastards

  5. My Old Man


  1. Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll

  2. Wake Up and Make Love with Me

  3. Sweet Gene Vincent

  4. Clevor Trevor

  5. This Is What We Find


  1. Mash It Up Harry

  2. Dance Little Rude Boy

  3. Rough Kids

  4. Upminster Kid

  5. Blockheads

Further Information:

Stuart Kirkham PR on 07795 844611

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page